0870 numbers, are you silly enough to ring them?


I will not use 0870 numbers which are claimed to be charged at the national rate. My national rate is 1p a call for as long as I want to stay on the line.

0870 numbers are charged to you at the rate of 8p (yes, that is eight pence) a minute. If you ring an 0871 number, then that is 10p a minute.

Where does the excess money go? Simply to the person who offers you the telephone number to ring!

This means if you ring the sales office of a company, wanting to buy their goods, you are already paying them for answering the phone!

I suppose the best way to describe this is, imagine going into Marks and Spensers to buy a shirt, or a blouse. Before you can get through the front door, you find there is a turnstyle and you have to put 50p in the slot to get in.

I am not sure what your reaction would be, but in all fairness, it should be the same reaction to having to phone an 0870 number.

There is a growing number of people around the country who are up in arms over this. A website “SayNoTo0870.com” will help you find a geographical number (01xxx or 02xxx) which matches the 0870 number you enter. It also allos you to enter a new set of numbers if you have been clever enough to wheedle out an alternative number.

Our American readers will be astounded that the Brits would be stupid enough to pay this premium. They won’t shop anywhere unless there is a freephone number!

Follow the link below to save money…

  1. #1 by Andrew on Thursday, 25 November 2004 - 3:44 pm

    As an aside to the above, I had a problem with one of the programs on my computer. The software company, who have their offices in the same town as me, offer a helpline with an 0870 numbers. That isn’t as bad as a Sales line but I still wasn’t happy.So I phoned their office in San Fransisco, 6,000 miles away for 2p. That is a saving of 6p a minute.But not really, it was more like seven pence ha’penny.You see, they answered the phone quicker, put me through to the help line guru quicker, and as he was a wizard with the software, and help me solve my problem so much faster.

