Another gizmo to play with :-)


Whilst awaiting my second new camera I have treated myself to an 80 Gigabyte gizmo called Flashtrax. This also goes under the name of Phototainer in some parts of the world.

Briefly, it is a small box that will sit in an anorak pocket or camera bag. It has a compactFlash slot to read the 1GB CompactFlash card I have in my camera. As I take RAW files, it will only hold 80 photographs before it is full. Now all I have to do is to stick it in the slot, press one button, and it is backed up to the Flashtrax. The Flashtrax also holds the 4GB of MP3 files I possess so I can play music – either from the built in speaker or my headphones.

The built in 3.5″ square monitor (approx four times the size of the normal 1.8″ square monitor found on most cameras) enables me to see my photographs and zoom in eight times with a 6MPxls picture so I can see how sharp the picture is for an A3 blowup. It also allows me to run slide shows on the devise, or play them through my television set. In addition to this, it will even play videos taken with a digital camera.

Finally, I can backup files from my PC if I want to take them to share on a friends PC via the USB2 cable.

I have just gone through the tutorial in the manual and am now just about to read the advanced section so I guess there are further treats in store!

A very useful tool for a digital photographer. If you would like to know more, look at the link below.

Andrew.

