What I learned from my army days…


First of all, after a rank structure of…

Private

Lance Corporal

Private

Lance Corporal

Corporal

Private

Lance Corporal

Private

I learned that it might well be advisable to seek my fortune in Civy Street.

However two small ideas I did pick up, and can recommend to others, whether in their business or home lives are…

Time spent in reconnaissance is never wasted.

This means that when you have a job to do, you find out all you can about your options before you start. This is self-explanatory!

Examine the logistics

This means that you should ensure you don’t waste time in unnecessary work or travel. For example, when I sold printing from my offices in Oxford Street in the sixties, I drew rings around my office in 500 yard intervals. And never sought business in the next ring until I had exhausted most of the targetted businesses in the previous ring..

Later in life I learned a maxim which has also proved of enormous benefit. This is simply…

The quality of the decisions you make depend on the quality, and quantity, of the questions you ask.

Naturally this assumes you are going to get quality answers, which in itself should follow on automatically from asking quality questions!

Let’s face it, how can you make a quality decision if you have no facts to base that decision on. Also, the more facts you get, the better your decision should be.

Perfect decisions are made when you have all the facts at your disposal.



Andrew

