We can choose our friends…


But, alas, we can’t choose our relatives.

Many years ago, back in the days of the Commodore PET, I had the computer, double disk drives, and a printer. It was the state of the art in those days!

I was helping my cousen who had offices in Bond Street and bought the computer in so that he could evaluate such a new-fangled system for his business.

Unfortunately he locked me out, changed the locks on the office door, and I was minus one very expensive computer system.

So that night a friend and I broke the door and reclaimed the computer.

He called the police, physically hid the note I had left him saying what I had done and that I would be happy to pay for the damaged door, so the police would start an investigation..

So he called the police in, I was arrested and, to cut a long story short, when it came to the “day” the magistrates laughed it out of court. And told the police to remove all data taken about me.

Needless to say, this worthless cousen of mine lied to his family and I was the villain of the piece because I had the audacity to “steal” my computer back. He also lied to many of my friends. Funnily enough nearly all his “friends” were ones who I had introduced to him. That went as far as his live-in woman who, I believe became his wife afterwards.

After this, I reappraised all my relatives in my mind and when I took stock I immediately cut out all of those on my mother’s side – right out of my life.

And, you’ve guessed it, life got decidably better.

Blood is thicker than water, but only if you bring physics into the equation.

There is no need to have anything to do with your relatives if they are hateful, dishonest or bastards/bitches and try to pull you down. It is different, of course, if your relative is also your friend.

Andrew

