Donovan


Does anyone remember Donovan’s “Catch the wind”. The lyrics, appended below, are beautiful and I learn he wrote not just this song, but most of his early work.

A trip to http://www.pmpr.co.uk/donovan2a.htm will produce a potted life story, too long to write here. However, I will say that the first ten years of his life until 1955 were spent in Glasgow before moving to the lush Hertfordshire countryside which opened his eyes to nature’s beauty.

Last year (2003) saw him collecting an honorary “Doctor of Letters” at St Albans Cathedral on the 19th November. This was for his huge contributions to song and poetry by the University of Hertfordshire.

Read and enjoy the words of “Catch the wind”…

In the chilly hours and minutes

Of uncertainty

I want to be

In the warm hold of your loving mind.

To feel you all around me

And to take your hand

Along the sand

Ah, but I may as well try and catch the wind.

When sundown pales the sky

I want to hide a while

Behind your smile

And everywhere I’d look, your eyes I’d find.

For me to love you now

Would be the sweetest thing,

T’would make me sing

Ah, but I may as well try and catch the wind.

Dee dee da da la da da da da da

Ya da da, da da, da da

When rain has hung the leaves with tears

I want you near

To kill my fears

To help me to leave all my blues behind.

Standing in your heart

Is where I want to be

And I long to be,

Ah, but I may as well try and catch the wind.

Ah, but I may as well try and catch the wind.

So for all of you who had forgotten Donovan, he is still around, and still singing…

I am discovering a whole new world since I downloaded an add-on for WinAmp v5.x which allows me to right-click on the song I have playing and click the “get lyrics” tab.

We often listen without hearing and, this way, by reading the song’s words whilst the song is actually playing opens up whole new vistas!

Andrew

