Again about the French



Wine & Cheese

Most extraordinary. Two of the e-mails I received today were from readers who must have seen my old messages across the Internet at the time when our meat received a clean bill of health from the EU’s inspectors but the French kept their ban on our meat in place.

I wrote messages all over the Internet suggesting people stopped buying French wines and cheese. My suggestion at the time was that there was a lot of non-French wine and cheese out there so one wouldn’t be “cutting off one’s nose to spite one’s face”

This was widely taken up. So much so, in fact, that the Australians – last time I looked at figures – were neck to neck in UK wine sales.

But getting back to those e-mails. It seems that, like me, both reades relaxed their rule as soon as the French lifted their ban on our meat and, like me, now find they hardly ever buy French wine or cheese, not because they don’t like them, but because they have discovered so many other wines and cheeses in the shops.

There’s a message here. And, not only for the French wine and cheese producers. It is that the Internet can be an extremely powerful weapon when an injustice occurs. Or when people perceive that an injustice has occurred

Andrew

