The “Tesco Direct” Catalogue


I was thumbing my way through this free 1,000 page catalogue we picked up from our local branch and I do urge people to check the Internet before buying anything from it.

I am sure a lot of items are competitive but when I came across the Panasonic Lumix TZ5 (I own the older TZ3) on page 630. I was amazed at the price they were charging. The full recommended retail price of £289.97. I checked and people are selling this on the Internet for around £180 to £200. In fact Amazon UK are charging £174.70 for the silver model as shown in the Tesco Direct catalogue.

I think, in the years to come, Amazon is going to grow into the largest retailer in Britain if they are not already. The worrying thing is, what will happen if the shops and stores start to collapse in the present economical climate – will they keep their low prices.

Ampers

  1. #1 by Ampers on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 9:54 pm

    Some people might say that because their items carry a three year guarantee the prices would be a lot more.I have two points to make here.1. You have to pay the full price with the three year guarantee. There is no choice. And remember, you get one year free under law anyway.2. We have all read the newspapers about how these guarantees are always over -priced and not worth taking out.

  2. #2 by Ampers on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 4:43 pm

    HP PhotosmartC7280 all-in-one printer is £192 with free delivery at Amazon.co.uk and in Tesco Direct it is priced at £249.97

