Archive for November 20th, 2008

YouTube

I have got caught up with this phenomenon and when I have time, spend a most enjoyable hour or two watching videos.

I have a wide screen Panasonic television in the lounge which has a socket at the back for a computer monitor cable and have set it up with my Fujitsu-Siemens Lifebook – I can now see my computer screen on the television.

I now need to connect sound up as well, and I should soon be able to play my YouTube videos through my huge television screen.

According to the YouTube section in Wikipedia, they say that few facts are available about YouTube but they do say:

Few statistics are publicly available regarding the number of videos on YouTube. However, in July 2006, the company revealed that more than 100 million videos were being watched every day, and 2.5 billion videos were watched in June 2006. 50,000 videos were being added per day in May 2006, and this increased to 65,000 by July. In January 2008 alone, nearly 79 million users had made over 3 billion video view.

We are now over two years down the line so I guess all these numbers have dramatically increased.

I am not sure of the legality, but there are two websites that offer extra facilities for the YouTube fiend. Both these websites work without downloading any software to your computer – always a better way of going about things.

First of all we have “KeepVid”. This website allows you to enter the URL address of the YouTube video and it will then collect it and download the video to your computer so you can watch it and show it to your friends at home. However, YouTube does allow you to click on a favourites button if you like a video to make it easier to go back to it later. I currently have thirty-seven favourites.

The second website is “Vixy”. This website allows you to enter the URL address of the YouTube video and choose between video formats or MP3 sound files. It then loads up the software, converts it, and then downloads the converted file to your computer. One particularly good use for this is to take a music video and strip out the sound to play in your Zen or iPod.

Ampers.

Leave a comment

Think before you speak

I don’t think there will be many of my readers who won’t get a tiny feeling of “serves the bugger right” feeling after watching this thirty second video.

Ampers.

Leave a comment

