Archive for December 19th, 2008

Zimbabwe, my thoughts

I have just received an email from Hennie who has asked me, as I come from South Africa, why I haven’t mentioned anything about the state of affairs in this tragic nation.

It is simple really, I know when I am licked. Nothing I can write is going to make a damned bit of difference because there is no oil in this wretched country.

The West will huff and they will puff and will do nothing. They (the politicians) don’t really care at the masses dying of cholera, or being ill-treated by Mugabe’s regime.

Africa itself will not intervene because of Mugabe’s past. In the old days when Mugabe was fighting the Rhodesian Government, he was a hero to black Africans everywhere. He is still cashing in on that hero status. To black politicians in Southern Africa, that is much more important than the millions dying of starvation, AIDs and now cholera. So Africa will huff and they will puff and will do nothing. They will make no physical attempt to unseat the “hero”. Mugabe knows this only too well!

This is, my friend, the reason why I do not write about Zimbabwe. However, for those of you who, like me, would like to see a solution, pray that oil is discovered in the country. If this happens, Mugube will be deposed within three weeks.

Ampers.

Footnote: The bank of Zimbabwe has just issued a new Z$10,000,000,000 (ten billion) note to try and ease the desperate cash shortage. These are being sold on the black market for US$20.

2 Comments

