Taking responsibility for your actions


Obama mentioned this on the day he was sworn in as president. But what does it really mean?

I knifed the bugger because he stared at me, if he hadn’t he’d still be alive!” There is a whole industry within our legal system who will find fault with the victim, and get the killer the most lenient sentence possible. The fault is the killer, not the killee!

They are bastards, they have taken my house away” If you took out a 100% mortgage with a 10% cash-back to buy furniture for it, or saddled yourself with a huge debt which you knew you couldn’t afford to pay- by lying to the lender about your means. The fault lies nearer to home doesn’t it?

I voted for Gordon Brown” Well, you didn’t really as he hasn’t faced the public yet. But if he had and you voted for him, whether it was because your father voted for him, and his father before him, or you believed he was better than the next man, there is no good blaming the world. The fault was yours, and millions like you.

My wife is a bitch, she divorced me and took my kids!” Yes, she did, and no wonder, I think she snapped after finding out you had slept with your secretary and her best friend. She wouldn’t have minded quite so much but your secretary’s name was William! If you took responsibility of being a married man, and kept faithful, you could have still been with your kids!

Once you make a decision and act on that decision, the buck stops right where you are standing, or sitting! You, and only you are responsible for that decision. If it is a collective decision and, for the sake of your job, or a friendship, you agree with the majority – you are still responsible for that collective decision. Only by walking away can you claim “it were nowt to do with me, guv!”

Make a decision, and realise that this is your decision and whatever you do is not the fault of others is the beginning of taking full responsibility for your actions.

Make sure you have all the facts at hand, by asking the right questions, before you make a decision is also very important.

Ampers

  1. #1 by Ampers on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 9:33 pm

    Thanks for your kind words…A black chappy once told me that I was responsible for slavery. I said that I am not concerned with what any other peoples ancestors did or didn’t do. But if he could prove one of my own ancestors were responsible, I would apologise, otherwise get out of my fucking face! He shut up pretty damn quickly and the others in the group actually cheered.

  2. #2 by Leg-iron on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 5:53 pm

    Absolutely spot on.We have people in this country who wring their hands over slavery, which we abolished 200 years ago, and insist we must abase ourselves and apologise. They cry that we are responsible for the crusades (well, I’m old, but I’m not that old!) and for all the ills of Zimbabwe (never been there). All the world’s problems are the fault of the British and we must grovel and say sorry.Then, when they trip on a paving stone, they look around for someone to blame, and of course sue.It’s an impressive doublethink mindset – ‘we’ are at fault for things over which we have no control, but if ‘I’ do something stupid, it’s someone else’s fault.Some people just need a good slapping.

