Let go, move on


One of the most difficult things for a human to do is to let go, and move on. In the British Isles, the Irish find this difficult, in the Middle East, both the Israelis and the Palestinians find it almost impossible. In America, the “African Americans” are too concerned with the slave trade which ended nearly two centuries ago and everyone who had anything to do with it are now dead, as are their children and their grandchildren. Let go, and move on.

I also find it sad that the black American cannot let Africa go and just call themselves Americans. The British Americans, the Swedish Americans, the German Americans call themselves plain Americans and aren’t hung up about it. Let go, and move on.

Then when marriages break up, spouses hate each other, some for ever. Neighbours have long feuds over the height of a hedge. And, if I wanted to bore you all to tears, I could go on and on – but by now, I feel sure you get my drift. Let go, and move on!

I can honestly say that one of the major lessons I learned as a young man is how to let go and move on. I hated a cousin very much, but when I learned about letting go from a Tony Robinson seminar I followed his plan. I contacted the cousin and said that, although it would be best to continue our separate ways, I no longer hated him. That unsettled him, but it terminated the hatred I felt, and I felt so much better. And felt even more happy when I imagined what this may have done to him. But that wasn’t very nice of me and detracts from what I am trying to tell you – but I am only human!

Hating destroys one’s life, tenses one up, and consumes one’s time. Let go, and move on.

Ampers.

  1. #1 by markbergerspeaks on Monday, 2 February 2009 - 8:21 pm

    Hi Anderew. Thanks for this great post. Here is a powerful saying about hatred: “Hatred is like taking poison and waiting for the other person to die!” Regards Mark Berger.

  2. #2 by The Machinist's Wife on Sunday, 1 February 2009 - 10:28 pm

    Oh my! What truth! What truth! This is my mantra: move on, tomorrow is another day. Tomorrow is always a BETTER day. I adore what you have written here. Bitterness is a killer, and is always the result of unforgiveness and hatred. I hope the indigenous Australians would let go and move on, too!

