Ubuntu


OK, most of you know I use the Ubuntu Operating System on my PCs and continue to rave about this; and the fact that I have about 20,000 programs available to me and over 98% of them are totally free!

But what about the name? How do you pronounce it for a start? Try: Ooboontoo, got it? That is roughly how it is pronounced by a Zulu as it is part of their language.

Archbishop Desmond Tutu has this to say of the word…

“A person with ubuntu is open and available to others, affirming of others, does not feel threatened that others are able and good, for he has a proper self-assurance that comes from knowing that he belongs in a greater whole and is diminished when others are humiliated or diminished, when others are tortured or oppressed.”

The Operating System has a Zulu word as the person here, in London, Mark Shuttleworth who put this all together is from South Africa and I guess he must have thought it was appropriate..

Do you have ubuntu? And, here, I am not referring to the computer operating system! If you are a politician there is no need to answer as we all know, only too well, that you don’t.

Ampers.

