Survival 21st Century style


One of the bloggers I read had written extensively about Charles Darwin… well it’s that time of the year, isn’t it?

One particular phrase caught my eye:

It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is most adaptable to change.’

This led me thinking. A lot of people pride themselves on being fit, being strong and, in academia, being intelligent. But there is nothing here to help you in the mire that surrounds us if you are not adaptable.

The Indians in our society will survive, as will the Chinese and the Poles. (And, of course, many other races.) But what about our native born English people?

I was reading, recently, about a Pole who was a medical doctor, working on a building site as he found it was going to take a bit of time before he landed a hospital job.

Can you honestly imagine a doctor, accountant or lawyer, let alone a corporate executive, of office worker, willing to dig ditches, or work on a building site to save their mortgage, or, in fact, their marriage? It is hard to imagine, but I am sure there must be one or two somewhere in England.

I will repeat Darwin’s mantra, maybe it will sink in…

It is not the strongest of the species that survives,
nor the most intelligent that survives.
It is the one that is most adaptable to change.’

Ampers.

  1. #1 by subrosa on Friday, 6 March 2009 - 6:13 pm

    I do wish you’d join Twitter. You would be excellent with the understatement. I don’t have such skills sadly.

