Deists, what are they?


I am approaching seventy at the speed of the Japanese Bullet train! And it has taken that long to label myself religiously speaking.

I was torn between being an Atheist, but I do believe in God, and an Agnostic but I am convinced that a God exists. It is organised religion I disbelieve. I do not believe in any of the religious teachings, including both testaments of the Bible and the Q’uran. I do believe that religion was “invented” to enslave the population. Isn’t the Catholic ritual of confessing to a priest a form of slavery? And look at the hold Islam has on its followers.

On a recent visit to the Canadian “Religious Tolerance” website, I discovered the following explanation of a group I had only actually heard of this very morning.

The word “Deism” is derived from the Latin word for God: “Deus.”

Deism is a natural religion. Deists believe in the existence of God, on purely rational grounds, without any reliance on revealed religion or religious authority. Because of this, Deism is quite different from religions like Judaism, Christianity and Islam. The latter are based on revelations from God to prophet(s) who then taught it to humans. We like to call natural religions as “bottom-up” faiths and revealed religions as “top-down.”

The opposite of Deism is Atheism — the lack of a belief in god(s).

Deists:

  • Do not accept the belief of most religions that God revealed himself to humanity through the writings of the Bible, the Qur’an or other religious texts.

  • Disagree with strong Atheists who assert that there is no evidence of the existence of God.

Many Deists reason that since everything that exists has had a creator, then the universe itself must have been created by God. Thomas Paine concluded a speech shortly after the French Revolution with: “God is the power of first cause, nature is the law, and matter is the subject acted upon.”

Hey! Hey! I have a label! Not terribly important in the grand scheme of things, but it helps when filling out NHS forms and other government busybody type forms. Let’s see what they make of that.

According to a list of Deists in Wikipedia, I am in illustrious company. Here are just a few Deists listed on that website…

Adam Smith
Albert Einstein
Benjamin Franklin
Cicero
Frederick the Great
George Washington
Mark Twain
Marlon Brando
Napoleon Bonaparte
Thomas Jefferson
Thomas Paine
Victor Hugo
Voltaire

So, at least, I am no longer alone. I have always known what I believe in, but today is the first day I know that others share the same believe. I am feeling pretty good and it seems irrational that this can do that.

Another Wikipedia site has full information on what a Deist is and it makes fascinating reading – for me!

Ampers.

