I am getting old


But, I am delighted to say, approaching my seventieth (I was born just before WW2  on the 19th July 1939) I see no reason to start slowing down. I feel pretty fit, and although I sleep until eight o’clock every morning, most nights I don’t retire until 2:00am. And as of now, I have not had to take a nap during the afternoon. That is, unless I am attending a boring meeting or lecture 🙂

Today’s electronic Daily Telegraph carries a story of someone a lot older than me leaping out of an aircraft at 10,000 feet on his first ever Skydive. He is 28 years older than I am, so there’s hope for, and life in, me yet.

So I’ll keep the fingers tapping away and may travel even further afield to find my stories. 

Ampers.

  1. #1 by Ampers on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 9:43 pm

    Yes, we both rise at 8am. Pam is happy to let me stay but once she’s up I err… smell the coffee 🙂 Sometimes I retire at 1am sometimes at two. Like you, I take advice from my body, but it is too bleddy eager to get going… my mind has a job catching up :-)I am pleased you added the word “myself” 🙂

  2. #2 by subrosa on Saturday, 4 April 2009 - 8:46 pm

    I don’t slow down Ampers I just listen far more to my body and mind. Rather than going to bed at midnight if my mind says ‘wait a while’ I do now. Then when my body and mind (hopefully both together but not always) suggest I waken at 7am all well and good. If it’s 9am and I’m no business that day then the same. I do always have an hour to myself in the day, whether it’s lying on the bed reading or nodding off then so be it. Who’s going to argue?

