Slow down of service


Greetings to my blogees,

As the days approach to my seventieth birthday (19th July) many readers will have noticed a slow-down of my blogs. No, this is nothing to do with nature’s way of telling me to slow down as I will tell you below.

I live in London N3 in an area known as Finchley. Fifteen years ago I lived in the next town called East Finchley where I started up a newspaper called The Archer and, although I left the area I follow its progress, and it is still a force as a community newspaper which pleases me immensely.

I am now starting a newspaper in Finchley, N3. We are calling it The Finchley Arrow with a strap line of “…straight to the point!”

If you click on the above link you will see where we have got to-date. At present our web address points to a Google Group but we have found a web builder who has offered to build our website for us. However, we still need a designer to design the actual pages.

Royal Mail have given me the number of letterboxes in the area, and showing a breakdown between the three sub-areas (N3 1xx, N3 2xx and N3 3xx) of both resident’s and businesses’ letterboxes. Although this will be an electronic newspaper, we still have to leaflet the area every three months. Our initial leaflet calls for helpers and will be delivered here next Friday. When I started The Archer I only sent out 1,000 leaflets and within six months had a team of fifty volunteers. Times are tougher nowadays but I am expecting at least fifty helpers within a few weeks of the delivery of our 10,000 leaflets.

Our first issue comes out at the end of the last week of September, so after that I hope to have more time for my blog. This doesn’t mean I won’t do at least one or two each week between now and then.

Also, after we have got the second or third issue out, I will refer to my notes and write an article of exactly how we all went about this. The idea being that others could follow suit and start community newspapers in their locations. It would be nice if they could keep the word Arrow in their name so we get some sort of brand recognition. The Barnet Arrow, The Streatham Arrow, The Richmond Arrow and so on. Each independently run, no royalties, just enough to carry some strength of brand advertising.

Ampers

  1. #1 by Ampers on Friday, 26 June 2009 - 2:26 pm

    On behalf of our helper, I thank you! There is still a lot of hard work to be done. The fantastic thing is how people are rallying around the project.If you saw the jobs on offer and how many have been filled so far – this is before the leaflets have gone out!I need to rewrite the pages on the site now.Ampers

  2. #2 by VotR on Friday, 26 June 2009 - 2:00 pm

    Good luck with the launch, Ampers.

  3. #3 by subrosa on Friday, 26 June 2009 - 1:00 pm

    What a great project. Well done all of you.

