MP resigns in fury


I notice, in the Saturday newspapers, that Labour MP Andrew MacKinlay has resigned in fury over ministers allowing the extradition of Gary McKinnon to the United States to stand trial for hacking into their military computers.

Whether Gary really has a serious disability or not, and whether he intended only to find details of UFOs or had a more sinister intent has nothing to do with my blog today.

I was disgusted with the noise that MacKinlay is making. Resigning as an MP at the next election will not really be a problem for NuLabour as they will be having a huge weed out anyway. I would have been more impressed if MacKinlay resigned immediately causing a new by-election. After all, its only a loss of a few months pay, and he is 60! Only by leaving immediately would he have made any impact on the present leadership.

No Mister MacKinlay — I am not the least bit impressed at your rantings and ravings. They will have absolutely no effect on anybody. Did you really expect the public not to see through your half-hearted stance!

Ampers

  1. #1 by Ampers on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 3:59 pm

    Personally, I think the Americans are stupid. If I were the president, I'd have hired Gary to teach my people where they had gone wrong in the design of their security.

  2. #2 by Sylvester on Wednesday, 5 August 2009 - 2:29 pm

    The point is that if he resigns immediately he will lose out on the lucrative financial package offered to retiring MP's. Hence he will stay on to the end of this Parliament and effectively just retire. If he were to resign immediately as Labour MP Dr Ian Gibson did he would send a sharp message to the Government but it would have a personal financial cost that he is not willing to incur. I have to admit I don’t have a great deal of sympathy for this Gary McKinnon hacker I think he is taking the "Ernest Saunders defence" (the only man ever to make a full recovery from Alzheimer’s disease following his trial) of massively exaggerating his medical condition to try and avoid justice for an offence in which he is clearly very guilty. Anyone stupid enough to hack the Pentagon deserves all what’s coming, just get him on a plane and be done with. I do however agree that this extradition treaty with the United States is very unfair, one sided and needs modification. However lets not waste this on Gary McKinnon.

