Thou shalt not kill


I am referring to the death of the Hamas arms procurer in Dubai the other day. But it will achieve two purposes from my point of view. First it will identify those amongst us who think Hamas can do no wrong and Israel can do no right, and those who think Israel can do no wrong and Hamas can do no right (I do not fit into either categories as I realise it is not as simple as that) but also it has set me thinking about our own government.

In particular, our Foreign Office. But I shall come to that later.

First, whether Israel is responsible or not (and, because of the efficiency, it would take a lot to persuade me that they are not) they are gutsy. I would suspect, in the cold war days, Russia must have despaired that, no matter how much they funded Arabs and the Americans funded (and still do) Israelis, the Arabs just couldn’t manage to win any wars – and they tried – several times! Israelis were fighting for their existence, but the Arabs weren’t. A bit like the “cornered rat” syndrome. If a rat is cornered it will always fight its attackers more fiercely as it is its life, but for the attackers it is not a matter of life or death.

Returning to our Foreign Office, I wish they would show the courage of the Israeli Government in going ahead and doing what they think is right, rather than pussy-footing around terrified of offending any of our enemies, or friends!

I once suggested to Margaret Thatcher that she should privatise the Foreign Office. She smiled and by her look, I could see that it was an idea that “hit a spot” with her!

The sooner our diplomats get some backbone, the better it will be for England. Pussy-footing attracts contempt. Strength attracts respect.

Ampers

  1. #1 by Ampers on Wednesday, 24 February 2010 - 8:53 am

    If the Brits FO F'ed O and they put some army officers in charge the toughened approach would win us more friends.

  2. #2 by schumi on Thursday, 18 February 2010 - 4:51 pm

    shame, yes, the Brits are worried that their passports were used.Your feelings re pussyfooting around diplomatic issues I suppose is all over the world, if there is nothing for a Government to gain from it.Zimbabwe is a good example. Why should any country take strong action against Bob, there is no oil or other riches of note!

  3. #3 by Ampers on Wednesday, 17 February 2010 - 12:44 pm

    I have just read that former Liberal Democrat leader Sir Menzies Campbell wants the Foreign Office to call in the Israeli Ambassador in over these killings.Stupid man, what on earth makes him think Mossad would confide in an Ambassador? I can just imagine how the conversation will go:FO – Was Israel responsible for this?IA – You tell me, I have no idea! Perhaps if you find out you could let me know? I'd be very grateful.Ampers

