What is Ubuntu


Ubuntu, in Xhosa or Zulu means a shared progress0 for the help of all. The Linux program Ubuntu was based by a fellow South African, Mark Shuttleworth, on that premis and it has expanded rapidly in the five or so years it has been in existence.

I have been dabling with Linux on and off for ten years now, First with SuSE and then with Ubuntu, and for the last two years have used Ubuntu solely on my desktop and for one year on my Notebook and on my Netbook.

And have never looked back, or spent a penny on software.

Take a look at their latest software. It is quite impressive.

If you only use a wordprocessor, spreadsheet, browser and email program, then it is foolish not to use this. If you also like software to edit and watch videos and photographs, then it is foolish to use anything other than this. If you like to play music and edito mp3 files for your cellphone, then this is the operating system to use.

There is only one “lie” in the entire video. It states there are thousands of free programs available. This is wrong but I understand why they have said this. There are, in fact, tens of thousands of free programs and I have said this here as I am sure my readers will be able to get their heads around this fact.

Ampers

  1. #1 by mechris3 on Tuesday, 25 January 2011 - 1:02 am

    I would love to, but it is a work laptop. That in itself is not a problem, but it has full disk encryption, which may or may not explain why I could not install it. (Shame because it is a VERY high spec work machine). I do run it as a VM though which gives acceptable performance. I am very impressed at the new life it has breathed into our old home PC though.

    I hope to build a PC later this year. One of the things that bothered me about this before now, was the high cost of buying Windows as a standalone product as compared with buying a PC with it pre installed. The cost pretty much seemed to cancel out any saving involved in building one’s own PC. (Yes, I know there are other benefits to building one’s own PC, but cost did not seem to be one of them).

    I would now however be pretty happy to build a high spec machine and just stick Ubuntu on there. I have been reading overblown accounts of various flavours of Linux for a decade or more, but this one really does seem to be going places. Not least because it realises that most of us want an OS to be easy to install and use. (I am a programmer, and even I don’t want an OS to be a pain to use, so I can only imagine that goes double for the average user).

  2. #2 by Ampers on Tuesday, 25 January 2011 - 12:35 am

    Great, seems like you are really getting into it. Ubuntu is especially useful on Notebooks as it loads so quickly, and closes down in a few seconds. That just has to save a lot of battery life.

  3. #3 by mechris3 on Monday, 24 January 2011 - 10:32 pm

    I installed this a couple of weeks back after one of your other posts and am very impressed with it. I put it on a 7 yr old pc which has XP on it. It installed with no fuss right alongside Windows. On the home PC I now use Ubuntu for probably 95% of the time only occasionally swapping back when I need access to some app for which I have not found a Linux equivalent. It looks nicer than XP, runs faster and is a joy to use. After 10 years of being reluctant to use Linux I am very glad to have made the switch. (I even managed to get Spotify working after installing WINE).

    Thanks muchly for the heads up (and the always interesting blog posts. I Found your blog via ASI)

