The case for decriminalising drugs – by Milton Freedman PhD.


Although I have been saying everything he says in the following video, he says it a lot better than me.watch the video and look at some of the benefits I have listed after the video…

This is excellent and I have downloaded it from YouTube and put it on my phone to show others. There is nothing here that I don’t instinctively know and am amazed that everyone else doesn’t know it as well.

I hate hard drugs, I am already hooked on strong coffee and South African Brandy. This is really too much for me as it is!

But if we took drugs out of the criminal offence bracket there would be no dealers recruiting kids outside of the school gates to get them to deliver drugs in return for payment with drugs.

Muggings and burglaries would go right down as drugs would be cheap enough from Boots or the corner shop.

A&E wings of hospitals would have less injuries to treat, every night and double on weekends.

The police would be able to live with any cuts as we wouldn’t need half as many as we do now.

Tens of thousands of drug dealers all around Britain would be out of work. Now this bit pleases me!

One could go on, but this is enough, I need another coffee… badly!

Ampers

  1. #1 by Ampers on Saturday, 5 March 2011 - 11:12 pm

    Have to agree, the concept of the individual taking charge of his or her own life is alien now to the peoples of these islands, more’s the pity 😦

  2. #2 by mechris3 on Saturday, 5 March 2011 - 5:49 pm

    These are all pragmatic reasons for legalisation, and very good ones too. However, the best reason of all to legalise drugs is that it really is no one else’s business but the user whether they do drugs or not. (I appreciate that in convincing non libertarians however, we probably have to use the pragmatic arguments rather than moral arguments ;-))

